Brazil Poster

Posted on June 23, 2011

0



I love Brazil by Terry Gilliam. It’s one of the most amazing movies ever made. The set design is brilliant, especially the posters and notes that you don’t see until the umpteenth time you watch it. I had some spare time a while ago and re-created one of the posters (I was learning vector software at the time and this was one of the first things I did.) Stumbled across the files when cleaning up my harddrive, so here you go:

I couldn’t find any frame of the movie where I could make out what the subtitles on the poster say. I’d love to know, if you have any idea, please do leave a comment.


Further harddrive archeology revealed the 200 word essay I had to hand in with my uni application a lifetime ago. Seems to be the theme of today. Hmm, wonder what movie to watch tonight…

The dolly shot introducing the Department of Records, clerk’s pool (scene 21) is a key scene to understand the bee hive, or machine like mechanism of the bureaucratic system that dominates Brazil. In the clerk’s chaotic bustle, every single one fulfils a certain purpose, just like single drones in a hive or a cogwheel. The speed and determination of the clerk’s and the camera’s movements creates a sense of helplessness, the proceedings are irresistible. The wheels will inevitably grind you if you get caught in them. First the camera follows single office boys or dollies, replacing one with the other, illustrating their wheel-like function without any individuality. When the camera moves on on it’s own, the tension rises, the movements directed towards the camera. not across it’s path. It comes to a high point when the camera almost collides with a ladder before coming to a halt “looking” up to the executive supervising the work. The clerks immediately stop working when he retreats to his office, watching a western instead. Only while being under control do they keep the system running. Thus the ethical question of participation is raised: They posses the ability to decide independently from the benefit of the system, but acting as one their individuality is not being reinstalled.

I seriously hope my English has improved since I wrote this.

Posted in: graphics